Groceries

I’m thinking about going crazy and making a master grocery list. The kind of thing that’s preprinted and I can cross off stuff I don’t need and a space to add stuff that’s not a weekly item. I love having a grocery list and adding to it during the week. I hate the “15 minute scramble before heading to the store” recheck to add normal items to the list. And if it’s not on the list, it might not get bought. I often go off list as I get inspired while I’m wandering the store…but I often forget some item I buy every week or nearly every week. And I’m thinking about making the list in order of the store to stop the “last 15 minutes of going back 6 aisles for 1 thing” nonsense…because I hate that 15 minutes too. I wouldn’t mind it so much if it were always the same thing I forgot, but it’s not, especially with learning the new store layouts.
Hell, I hate grocery shopping but since I do the cooking, I need to go most of the time so I know what’s in my damned kitchen, plus to get inspiration. Hubby doesn’t mind it but will only get exactly what’s on the list plus his usual stuff. His issue is when I say “get whatever fruit looks good and I’ll make dessert” or “buy goat cheese” or help me if I want something weird and/or he doesn’t already know where it is. I will not get it, even if I GPS’d the exact item and putting flashing lights on it…if I’ve gone to that much trouble, I might as well have just gone to the store myself.
Don’t get me started on actually buying groceries…you touch everything at least 8 times, if you bag your own and you only use the thing once.
– List Lady

Leave a Reply

